GT40 History

While not in any way an account of the history of the GT40, below are some notable achievements of this terrific race car.

Ford GT40s sweep the 1966 24 Hours of Le Mans. Bruce McLaren & Chris Amon finish first in GT40 MkII #1046 - Ken Miles & Denis Hulme second in GT40 MkII #1015 - Ronnie Bucknum & Dick Hutcherson third in GT40 MkII #1016.

1968 24 Hours of LeMans, LeMans, two Gulf GT40's running together.

Winner 1968 Le Mans GT-40P/1075.

Ford GT40 chassis #1075 in Gulf livery, as entered by John Wyer, won Le Mans in 1968 and 1969, the first car to ever win the 24-hour race back to back. Shown below in its No. 6 1969 LeMans guise during a driver change. The car is refuelled as Jackie Oliver exits the car. Jacky Ickx, standing by the pit wall, awaits his stint at the wheel - GT40P/1075. Ickx was to win the Le Mans 24 Hour Race more times than any other driver, 1969 was his first win.

Update : 5th May, 2008

hit counter account login
Counter by gallery.